Beer 45 – Unibroue Chambly Noire

Style: Belgian Dark Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Lacks oomph for a belgian

Will I be drinking this again: nope

Grade: B

12/23/2009: I have had a handful of Unibroue beers, and up until this one they have all been awesome. Unibroue consistently makes some of the best tasting Belgian beers outside of Europe.

At first taste I expect some wow factor, but I get nothing. Every sip after that I find myself looking for a taste that just isn’t there. The flavors are so dull that I really cannot pick out anything specific. I taste dark malt, and some sort of fruit but I cannot tell what it is. Someone who has never tried a belgian might like this, but I expect more out of a Belgian Dark Ale. Very drinkable, just not a lot of flavor.

Published in: on December 23, 2009 at 12:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,