Beer 34 – Troegs Mad Elf Ale

Style: Winter Warmer

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Honey Covered Cherries

Will I be drinking this again: As long as you keep that angry elf away from me

Grade: A

12/12/2009: What the hell is this elf so pissed off about anyways? He is the cover boy for one of the best Winter Warmers out right now. Maybe he is pissed because everyone is drinking all of his brew? You would think part of the beer label deal would involve some kind of stipend in the form of beer. Who knows.

Anyways I am sure a lot of you already know that this stuff is just plain awesome. Might just be my favorite domestic winter warmer out right now, with Anderson Valley Winter Solstice a close second. The primary taste is without a doubt cherries, with a hint of honey in the aftertaste. There is little to no hop flavor in this one. Even though I am not a hop guy I would say thats the only thing this one is missing; a little bit of hop bitterness. If you haven’t tried this one, you really need to run out and grab some.

Published in: on December 12, 2009 at 10:45 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,