Beer 40 – Victory Storm King Stout

Style: American Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Tony from Vision

What makes this beer different: VERY hoppy for a stout

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe

Grade: B+

12/18/2009: Thanks to my coworker Tony for this one. The more I am paying attention to where beers are brewed, the more I am realizing the eastern half of my state has a lot of good breweries. I have had many of the beers from them (Troegs, Victory, Weyerbacher), but never realized they were brewed in PA.

The head on this beer was massive. Once you taste it the first thing that hits you with this beer is undoubtedly hops. It is almost overwhelming at first. Once the beer warms up a little the hops back off a little bit, just enough for you to taste a pretty complex malt flavor. I didn’t really taste a lot of coffee/chocolate flavor that you usually do in stouts. I liked this beer but a little bit too hoppy for me. I am sure if it was aged a little bit it would be awesome.

Published in: on December 18, 2009 at 5:20 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,