Beer 53 – The Bruery 2 Turtle Doves

Style: Belgian Strong Dark Ale

Purchased at: My buddy Kevin picked me up a bottle from Denver

What makes this beer different: Chocolatey but almost too strong

Will I be drinking this again: At the price probably not

Grade: B+

12/31/2009: This is one of the many beers my buddy Kevin from Denver brought back for me. Wanted to save it for a special occasion and figured what better than New Years Eve. I think they named this 2 turtle doves because after you finish the bottle, you get these little birds flying around your head just like in the cartoons. Similar to when Wile E. Coyote would fall off a cliff and smash his head, those kind of birds.

I was pretty excited for this beer because of all the hype behind it. Unfortunately it did not quite live up to the hype. The smell is strictly roasted malt with some alcohol behind it. Flavor overall was very good. The major flavor to this one is chocolate, with an almost charcoaly aftertaste. The pecans advertised on the label do not come through for me at all. This also kind of feels like a hybrid between a belgian dark and a stout to me because it is so heavy. The killer here to me is the alcohol burn. I usually like super strong beers, but they did not do a very good job of hiding the ABV at all. By the time I got to the bottom of the bottle I was kind of choking it down. For the price I probably will not be drinking this one again.

Published in: on December 31, 2009 at 1:12 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,