Beer 32 – Ommegang Three Philosophers

Style: Quadruple

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Cherry Lambic Flavor

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: A-

12/10/2009: I’m not sure if I have had a dubbel/triple/quad that I have not liked. Typically a “Quad” is a belgian style ale with high alcohol content, and uses up to four times the usual malt one would use to brew beer. Usually they end up pretty sweet and hide the alcohol well.

This Belgian is brewed by American’s, but its still pretty damn good. Not quite up to par with other Belgians I have had (that I usually rate an A or A+), but is very solid and drinkable. The dominant taste in this one is tart cherry. The only thing lacking in this one was a little bit of “punch” that you get with quads. Not sure how to put it into words but it lacked oomph. Don’t get me wrong, still a very good brew.

Published in: on December 10, 2009 at 12:44 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,