Beer 45 – Unibroue Chambly Noire

Style: Belgian Dark Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Lacks oomph for a belgian

Will I be drinking this again: nope

Grade: B

12/23/2009: I have had a handful of Unibroue beers, and up until this one they have all been awesome. Unibroue consistently makes some of the best tasting Belgian beers outside of Europe.

At first taste I expect some wow factor, but I get nothing. Every sip after that I find myself looking for a taste that just isn’t there. The flavors are so dull that I really cannot pick out anything specific. I taste dark malt, and some sort of fruit but I cannot tell what it is. Someone who has never tried a belgian might like this, but I expect more out of a Belgian Dark Ale. Very drinkable, just not a lot of flavor.

Published in: on December 23, 2009 at 12:19 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/23/beer-45-unibroue-chambly-noire/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You should expand your taste of Canadian beers… great beers in Nova Scotia and Ontario! Kingston Brewing Company is one in Ontario (There are many more!) and Garrison Brewing Company, Keith’s and Rogues Roost (this one you can only get in Halifax at their restaurant/brewery, unfortunately.)
    I am enjoying your journey, but being Canadian, I would love to see your opinions on our beers. 😉
    Thanks!
    Terri

    • Thanks for the compliment Terri. I don’t really have access to any canadian beer other than unibroue and molson haha. I will keep my eyes open for the ones you mentioned though!


Leave a Reply

