Beer 26 – Bell’s Java Stout

Style: American Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Burnt Coffee Taste

Will I be drinking this again: Possibly

Grade: B+

12/4/2009: Gotta say this is a really cool looking label. Makes you feel bad for the little coffee mug dude when you crack open the beer. It’s like you are pouring out his guts.

Anywho I know a lot of people really like this stout, but this one was just slightly above average for me. The taste is pretty decent, but my knocks on it would be that its very under carbonated, and the coffee flavor almost tastes “burnt.” Ever had a plain old coffee from starbucks and didn’t sweeten it enough? If so then you know exactly the taste im talking about. Overall though it was pretty tasty, and I think I would have enjoyed it more if I was really in the mood for coffee.

Published in: on December 4, 2009 at 10:28 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/04/beer-26-bells-java-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just tried this and I love it, of course I don’t like super sweet coffee either. It had just enough sweetness at the end for me.
    http://fourboysbrewpub.blogspot.com/2010/04/java-stout-bells-brewery.html

    • I tried this again at a beer fest and I actually like it less, a little too much roasty bitter coffee for my liking.


Leave a comment