Beer 352/365 – De Struise Pannepot Reserva (2008)

De Struise Pannepot Reserva

Style: Quadruple

ABV: 10.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: The most expensive beer (per ounce) at $9.99 that I have ever purchased, but might also be the best Belgian I have had as well.

Will I be drinking this again: So expensive but so freaking good. Might have to buy another bottle or two.

Grade: A+

10/26/2010: The old saying “You get what you pay for” doesn’t always apply in the beer world, but I was hoping it did when I decided to pull the trigger on a $10 bottle. I knew the regular Pannepot has a reputation for being a great beer, so I am banking on the 2008 Reserva being even better. The Reserva is aged in two different kinds of oak barrels, while the original only one.

Cherry is the first thing I get in the aroma, some chocolate, sweet caramel, and some non-descript dark fruit.The first sip is nothing short of amazing, very complex but I will try to do my best to pick out some flavors here. Cherry is there for sure, some woodiness, raisins, cinnamon, prunes, and a rum like aftertaste. Mouthfeel is perfect, medium, rich, creamy, and barely any sign of alcohol at all. I have had a bunch of beer “wow” me on the first sip, but most don’t hold my attention like that entire way through… This beer did. I honestly might go as far to say this is the best Belgian Style beer of any kind that I have ever tasted. Yes even better than a Westvletern 12, Rochefort 10 etc. The aforementioned brews are great in their own right, but this beer exceeded great in my opinion. Wish I could put into words how much I enjoyed drinking this beer. Worth every penny of the $9.99 price tag.

Picture of the day: What a crappy tattoo.

Published in: on October 26, 2010 at 12:30 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/26/beer-352365-de-struise-pannepot-reserva-2008/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] 4: De Struise Pannepot Reserva 2008 […]


Leave a Reply

