365beers Recap & Top Ten List

11/19/2010: This blog has been the most exhausting yet gratifying thing I have ever been through. Drinking and acquiring all the good beer was the easy part, but actually updating the site proved to be a bit daunting at times. In the end it was all worth it, tried almost 80 styles of beer, drank some amazing beer from all over the world, made some great business connections, got a lot of great publicity from some high profile people/breweries, and made some friends along the way as a result of creating this website. I never could have imagined when I thought this idea up that I would get 56,000+ page views in just under a year. Thanks to everyone for reading and commenting, as that is what really motivated me to stick with it. After I gained about 15 lbs I almost decided to call it quits, but thank God for p90x as it helped me lose that weight plus 5 more (side note if you are looking to get back into shape, p90x IS the real deal). Keep in mind I am going to keep the site up and running, just going to update about half as much. So keep reading! I hope you all have enjoyed reading as much as I have maintaining it.

Below is a list of my top ten from the year. No surprise that five of them are Imperial Stouts, one Quad, one Belgian Strong Dark, one Double IPA, one Rye Ale, and an English Barleywine. Let me know your personal thoughts on any of the beers in my list. Agree Disagree?

10: J.W. Lees Vintage Harvest Ale 2001

Such a unique sweet toffee like flavor. Wish it was a bigger bottle though!

Click the link below for the rest of the top 10!

9: Smuttynose Ry(e)an Ale

This is saying a lot considering I hate Rye beers as a whole. I am sure the high quality Bourbon barrels that they used help add to my liking of this beer.

8: Three Floyds’s Dark Lord

Quite possibly the most hyped beer of all time, and for good reason. Thick, sweet and delicious.

7: Three Floyd’s Dreadnaught

My first ever double IPA, and it was love at first sip. Amazing tropical flavors. Could you imagine a black and tan with this and Dark Lord?

6: Trappistes Rochefort 8

This was my favorite Belgian beer before I ran into Pannepot. I know the 10 is most peoples favorite Trappistes, but something about the 8 really does it for me.

5: Dogfish Head World Wide Stout 2006

Amazing how drinkable this was at 18% ABV. I would have guessed it closer to 10%

4: De Struise Pannepot Reserva 2008

A barrel aged Belgian? Hell yes. Amazing flavors without coming off as overwhelming.

3: Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Coffee Stout

I am a big coffee and bourbon fan on their own, but Goose Island married these together perfectly.

2: Cigar City Hunahpu’s Imperial Stout

Best mouthfeel ever, the use of chile’s was very unique and really mellowed out the sweetness.

1: De Struise Black Damnation III Black Mes

A combination of 5 great flavors that married together almost perfectly. De struise really makes some great beer.

Alright so 365 down, and who knows how many more to go. Going to start updating with new beer again next week. Thanks again for reading and cheers!

Published in: on November 19, 2010 at 10:52 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/19/365beers-recap-top-ten-list/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful ,beautiful pictures,you should take these pictures and reviews and make a calender of them. I’m so disappointed with the other beer a day calender s I’ve gotten Great job

    • This is a brilliant idea. Beer of the day calendar. You got 1 year under your belt. It shouldn’t be hard to get some cheaper and easy to get beers in there as well, and now you have a second source of income.

      • I really do think i might try to do this. Going to see what the costs would be on my end and go from there.

    • Tom,

      Great Idea. I actually might think about doing that, and why not? My 8-5 actually brokers print, so maybe I will look until a beer a day calendar and see how much it would run me to print. Plus I could just sell them right through this site. I will give you some royalties for the idea lol.

  2. Excellent stuff. Thanks for all the reviews.

    • Thanks Charlie! Thanks for reading as well.

  3. Nice work. You are definitely and imperial stout fan. Mine would be full of IIPA’s 🙂

    • IIPA’s are growing on me, but I dont think they will ever overtake my stouts lol

  4. What a great quest! Oh, and a great excuse to buy expensive beer. I wonder if my wife will go for it.

    • lol I am single now so thankfully I don’t get guilt trips anymore about spending too much on beer.

  5. They had beer a day calenders at Barnes and Noble,they sold very well, I bought one myself, and it wasnt close in either quality or in the content of the review. Beer Advocate website might help you out.


Leave a Reply

