Beer 172/365 – Dogfish Head Palo Santo Marron

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 12.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: One of the most unique beers I have ever tasted, due to the Palo Santo wood barrel aging from South America

Will I be drinking this again: Absolutely

Grade: A

4/29/2010: Does Dogfish Head make a bad beer? Because I have yet to have one. They even make “spirits” at their tap room in Rehoboth DE. Their brown sugar honey rum is off the charts good. In fact I need to stock back up on it when I head down to OC MD next month.

There is no way for me to accurately describe the smell of this. The best I could come up with is, it almost smells like your grandmas perfume. Not necessarily flowery, but strong alcohol and some other unidentifiable “old” smells (Sorry gram I love you, but not your perfume). This is a malty malty beer, and has such a unique flavor. Again theres no way I can really describe the flavor because its like no beer I have ever tasted before, but it is woody. All I can say is the flavor is malty, woody and awesome. No way in hell would I guess this to be a 12% ABV beer. If you are getting sick of the same old beer and need to try something different, give this a shot.

Picture of the day: Stealing third base is only legal in baseball.

Published in: on April 29, 2010 at 1:38 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/29/beer-172365-dogfish-head-palo-santo-marron/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love this beer. Very unique and very awesome 🙂

  2. I aways try to keep this beer stocked in my fridge, if I can fit it in. This is one of my favorite beers to have as and after dinner nightcap.

    You have tempted me to go break one out now!!

    cheers
    mike

  3. I’ve been looking for this beer lately, it’s always sold out, now I know why. I can’t wait to try it.

  4. I drank this in the UK the other day. It cost me £8 in the Rake pub .. your turn to be smug 😉
    It was very impressive indeed for a dark beer of this type. I would love to get hold of more of this range

    • I have no idea what that amount would convert too lol. Yes this beer is really good, very unique for sure.


Leave a Reply

