Beer 147/365 – Atlantic Coal Porter

Style: American Porter

ABV: 6.5%

Purchased at: I honestly forget, but I think Jared sent this to me? amirite Jared?

What makes this beer different: Lots of flavor, and some charred action going on.

Will I be drinking this again: Its not readily available sooo probably not

Grade: B+

4/4/2010: Okay so I’m not going to lie, I thought I forgot to drink a beer on Sunday. I was freaking out on gchat asking the girlfriend if she could remember if I drank anything, and what it was. She is a bit more responsible than I am about those things haha. She mentioned that worst case scenario I drank a pint of Ballast Point Victory at Sea Porter a little after midnight at The Headkeeper. They are probably the most reasonably priced bar that has a good selection of craft beer in my area. Anyways turns out I drank Coal Porter late on Easter and forgot about it. I found my notes on it buried in my email, and the photo on my laptop. Maybe I need to stop drinking so much, or maybe I should start updating day after I drink the beer? haha. I would have been pretty pissed if I missed a day after going 146 beers deep into my journey.

So onto the beer. Smells of light chocolate and roasted malty goodness. It actually has a very rich taste for a medium bodied porter. Even amounts of chocolate and coffee flavor, and there is a bit of a “charred” taste i am getting. Charred but not quite burnt, but it gives this beer a uniqueness that I like. Very silky smooth mouthfeel which makes it very drinkable.

Picture of the day: Those New Yorkers are such rebels.

Published in: on April 4, 2010 at 9:40 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/04/beer-147365-atlantic-coal-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yep, that was my biggest reason for not doing the ‘Beer a day for a year’ review I had when I start my beer a week review. I knew there was no way I could do it for 365 days in a row without forgetting or being out of pocket, either no beer or no laptop/internet for that day. Good job making it this far, keep it up.

  2. Maybe you should join the little black beer book club with me Drew. Comes in handy for random notes too.

    • I really should do that. Problem is I am usually updating my blog from various places, so I won’t always have it handy. I usually just email myself notes through my blackberry.

  3. Don’t remember if I sent that one. I whipped at least one of the packages together while sampling the wares and then forgot to write down all the ones I threw in. Then trying to remember 20 beers after the fact is not an easy task! It is one we get around here, so glad you enjoyed it.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

