Beer 138/365 – Fujizakura St Valentine’s Chocolate Wheat

Style: Dunkleweizen maybe?

ABV: 6.0%

Purchased at: Daniel @howtojaponese.com

What makes this beer different: Goopy and sour

Will I be drinking this again: Sorry Dan but this one was pretty bad.

Grade: C

3/26/2010: Mmmmm chocolate wheat, sounds like it would be good right? This one must be REAL rare even in Japan as I cannot find any information on it. In fact when you google the name of the beer, one of the top results is my site from the beginning of the week. Hmmm, so I have no idea what to expect here haha.

The chocolate definitely comes through in the smell, it actually smells a little sour? The taste is very similar, typical wheat beer taste with a dose of chocolate, roasted flavor, but I just can’t ignore the sour. Not sure if its the way it was brewed or if it was a little bit infected? The mouthfeel was actually very very goopy and thick for a wheat beer. I think I would have enjoyed this much more if the sour wasn’t there. The chocolate itself is a very good taste, but I am just having trouble appreciating it.

I actually have one last Japanese beer to drink tomorrow! I am pulling one out of my stash to add to Japanese Craft Beer week.

Picture of the day: This is how you clean a ferarri.

Published in: on March 26, 2010 at 7:58 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/03/26/beer-138365-fujizakura-st-valentines-chocolate-wheat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yeah, of all the beers I sent, this was the one I was most worried about. I wasn’t able to refrigerate the beers before sending them to you (I think they went a week or so), and this one was live. Also, this is one of the few Fujizakura beers I haven’t tried. Too bad! They do make some good beers.

    If it’s any condolence, check out what happened to Chuwy’s weissen from Fujizakura even when he kept it cold: http://drinkbrains.blogspot.com/2010/03/im-not-boozing-weissen-its-serious.html

    • I don’t want you to think I am not thankful for you sending it! Because I am still psyched to have tried such a rare beer. And holy crap thats crazy what happened to Chuwys beer. Can;t beliebe age made it that dark!


Leave a comment