Beer 277/365 – Sierra Nevada Kellerweis

Sierra Nevada Kellerweis

Style: Hefeweizen

ABV: 4.8%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Not too much but its good, I’m starting to realize that hefe’s are a style that does not have a wide range of nuances.

Will I be drinking this again: At $1.59 for a bottle, hell yes.

Grade: A-

8/12/2010: Thanks to reader Jordon for suggesting this beer to me. Like many of the summer beers out there I have seen this one on the shelves many times, but never had a reason to really buy it. I figured it was fitting that I drink a hefe on a day when I’m taking a stab at my second homebrew, a franzy clone with 3/4lb of honey malt added in for my own little spin on it.

Kellerweis is the first wheat beer I have tried from Sierra Nevada. The nose was typical for a hefe; wheaty and a bit of banana. The flavor is also very typical for the style, but very well done; fresh grainy wheat, with an even dose of banana/clove. The mouthfeel is a little on the full side for a hefe, but I like it. Overall nothing really stands out all that much about this beer, but thats why its an A- as its a great example of a well brewed hefe. I don’t think they didn’t mess with the standard recipe too much and it came out very good.

Picture of the day: Drivers Test

Published in: on August 12, 2010 at 9:12 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/08/12/beer-277365-sierra-nevada-kellerweis/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! This has became a staple for my summer beers now. Sierra Nevada never fails, and their prices are always too good to pass up!


Leave a comment