Beer 225/365 – Dogfish Head World Wide Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 18.0%

Purchased at: Dogfish Head Brewpub – Rehoboth DE

What makes this beer different: So amazingly smooth for how strong it is.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, I love a good strong beer that hides the alcohol well.

Grade: A+

6/21/2010: This bottle of World Wide Stout is a 2006 vintage. It cost me $18 bucks, which I guess isn’t terrible considering fresh bottles run $10-$11 around Pittsburgh. I have only sampled WWS once before, and it was a fresh bottle. So I am pretty pumped to try a bottle with a few years of age on it.

Smell is boozy as all hell, with a lot of roast malt, and maybe some dark fruit. I am completely expecting this first sip to be similar to when you pour a mix drink thats just a bit too strong, but thankfully I was wrong. The main three flavors are a lot of chocolate, coffee, and some raisins. Caramel and Molasses also jump out at me. It is really amazing how well the alcohol is hidden in this beer, and I am also amazed at how the body of this beer is not all that heavy. Its slightly on the heavy side of average, but not by much. How does Dogfish Head hide all this alcohol is such a mediumish bodied beer? This beer was worth every penny. It took me about 45 minutes to drink on an empty stomach, and right after I finished it I took a hour our nap. Well done Sam Calagione.

Picture of the day: Super Mario Bros meets BP.

Published in: on June 21, 2010 at 12:52 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/21/beer-225365-dogfish-head-world-wide-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is good news as I have a couple 2007’s. Thanks.

  2. […] 5: Dogfish Head World Wide Stout 2006 […]

  3. […] I opened this late on a weeknight not taking note of the ABV before doing so (18%)… Oops! The nose is not as boozy as I expected, a lot of dark chocolate and some char. The alcohol is very well hidden for an 18%ABV beer, a lot of dark chocolate in the flavor, sweet toffee, and some prune like flavor in the mix. Mouthfeel as expected is a bit heavier than average. The beer went down well considering the high alcohol content, but it got a little bit too sweet at the end. Overall very good! Not quite as good as its 18% ABV brother WWS. […]


Leave a comment