Beer 387/365 – Duck-Rabbit Rabid Duck Russian Imperial Stout

Duck Rabbit Rabid Duck Russian Imperial Stout

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 10.00%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: Not too much, just a solid beer.

Will I be drinking this again: Yup I got another one in the basement

Grade: A-

4/7/2011: I haven’t had too many beers from Duck-Rabbit yet, but the ones I have had are very good. Their milk stout is one of my favorite, if not my favorite milk stout out there. I’ve got some of their baltic porter in the basement as well. Maybe I will crack one of those open this week.

The nose is pretty typical for a Russian Imperial, dark chocolate mostly, some coffee and dark malt. The flavor is classic RIS, dark chocolate, some coffee, and a nice alcohol punch. Mouthfeel is pretty creamy for the style, and low carbonation. Sometimes I admit I get a bit caught up the the “American” Imperial stouts that add all kinds of crazy ingredients, and forget about how good a simple Russian Imperial Stout can be. What makes a RIS good in my opi9nion lies in the simplicity of the beer, not the uniqueness. Good beer for sure.

Picture of the day: Accidental Penis?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/beer-387365-duck-rabbit-rabid-duck-russian-imperial-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

