Beer 383/365 – The Bruery Autumn Maple

The Bruery Autumn Maple

Style: Fruit / Vegetable Beer

ABV: 10.5%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: The first beer I have ever tried that was brewed with Yams…

Will I be drinking this again: I have another bottle in the basement, it was a little hot so hopefully some age will tame it a bit.

Grade: A-

3/22/2011: Let it be known that I will try any beer that has maple in it. I LOVE maple flavor. It also helps that they use yams in this because sweet potatoes/yams are right up my alley as well. You might see a blurry face in the reflection of the window behind the beer, and that would be my good friend Donnie who I split the beer with.

I was expecting a lot of maple in the nose, but there was zero. Lots of spice, nutmeg and cinnamon maybe? Also something fruity. The flavor is great, but not what I was expecting. Cinnamon, nutmeg and clove are the front runners. Maple is there but to be honest I’m not sure if I would have picked it out if i had not known it was in the beer. Lots of caramel flavor as well. Everything about this beer is great except for the mouthfeel, and strong alcohol bite. The mouthfeel is a bit light for such a high ABV. Overall though I’ll bet this beer will be great with some age.

Picture of the day: I can already tell this chick is going to make a great mother.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/03/22/beer-383365-the-bruery-autumn-maple/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yo Drew!

    So far, I’ve had their Tradewinds and their Saison Rue. The Breury makes some interesting and delicious beers. I’ll have to hunt this one down. Sounds delicious.

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Whats up g-lo? This one is usually a fall seasonal, so keep your eyes open for it around late sept or early oct.

      • Thanks for the info! They do make some really interesting beers.


Leave a Reply

