Beer 299/365 – Southampton Pumpkin Ale

 Southampton Pumpkin Ale

Style: Pumpkin Ale

ABV: 5.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Smells a lot better than it tastes, that being said the flavor is still very good.

Will I be drinking this again: Its in the top half of pumpkin ales I have ever tried, so probably.

Grade: B+

9/3/2010: Pretty surprising that this is my first Southampton beer, as they are pretty common at bottle shops in my area. I have their imperial porter in my fridge, but I read some reviews on it and it seems its not that good. I am sure I will get to it in these colder months coming up here.

Southampton is one of the better smelling pumpkin ales I have come across. It really smells like a fresh pumpkin pie; really nice mix of cinnamon, all-spice, and nutmeg. Of course there is pumpkin in the nose as well. The flavor wasn’t quite as powerful as the nose. The malt is nice and toasty, and the spices are perfectly done. The only knock on this beer is the actual pumpkin flavor is a little bit too subtle. The mouthfeel is about average, and it is a bit over carbonated. All that being said this is still a pretty solid pumpkin beer.

Picture of the day: This is why you don’t add your mom on facebook.

Published in: on September 3, 2010 at 8:19 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/03/beer-299365-southampton-pumpkin-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

