Beer 255/365 – Great Lakes Holy Moses White Ale

Great Lakes Holy Moses White Ale

Style: Witbier

ABV: 5.4%

Purchased at: Coworker Tony gave me this.

What makes this beer different: Crisp citrus, coriander and spice flavors.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes this was really refreshing.

Grade: A-

7/21/2010: Anyone notice I’ve been drinking a lot of Great Lakes beer lately? It’s purely coincidental, but I do like their beer a lot. I feel like most of their beer is very well crafted, with no “duds” in the lineup to speak of. On that note they also don’t have anything I would consider spectacular. Overall they are very consistent at making beer that is true to their respective style.

Holy Moses has a very strong yeast character in the nose, with a clean smack of citrus. The flavor is perfectly balanced between citrus, spice, and coriander. Each respective flavor keeps the other in check like a 3 part yin yang. Mouthfeel is a bit on the heavy side for the style, but there is just enough carbonation to make this extremely refreshing. Holy Moses White Ale is one of my go -to brews if I am looking for something from Great Lakes Brewing.

Picture of the day: History of the LOL cat.

Published in: on July 21, 2010 at 12:27 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/beer-255365-great-lakes-holy-moses-white-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congrats on your Pop City story. Your blog is definitely one I should be following.
    I got quite a nice “pop” on my Allegheny River blog yesterday from the article.
    Keep it up
    Richard citrin

    • Thanks for the compliment! I actually haven’t even had time yet to check out any of the other blogs yet due to overflow of work right now. But I will certainty check out yours in the next couple days.

      Cheers!


Leave a Reply

