Beer 237/365 – Three Floyd’s Lord Admiral Nelson

three floyds lord admiral nelson

Style: Extra Special / Strong Bitter (ESB)

ABV: 6.5%

Purchased at: From the Three Floyd’s Brewery

What makes this beer different: One of the highest rated ESB’s, I’m just not a huge fan of the style.

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not, its good for the style, but again I don’t like the style all that much.

Grade: B+

7/3/2010: ESB’s are by no means my favorite style, but I had to get a hold of this bottle because, well it has my last name on it. My buddy nick always calls me “Admiral,” so I had to get this. Apparently Lord Admiral Nelson was a real person. Gotta love Wikipedia.

The smell is mostly earthy hops, but not too intense. The taste is somewhat ashy? With a good bit of sharp bitter hops. Its a short quick punch of hops, not a long drawn out one like you would get with an IPA. Not a lot of malt going on, this is mostly about hops here. To be honest I have not had a ton of beer from this category, but this is what I always envisioned an ESB tasting like. That being said, its not quite my style, but seems to fit “the style” well, which is why it gets a B+.

Picture of the day: These are some pretty nifty chairs.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/beer-237365-three-floyds-lord-admiral-nelson/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

