Beer 235/365 – Southern Tier 2xIPA

southern tier 2xipa

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.2%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade

What makes this beer different: The looks are deceiving, lots of flavor for how transparent the beer is.

Will I be drinking this again: Can’t find it in the area? But I would drink it again yes.

Grade: A-

7/1/2010: Pliny the Elder is widely considered to be the best Imperial IPA on the market these days. I was browsing beer advocate when I stumbled in a thread where a user did a taste test with Pliny and 2xIPA. Surprisingly a lot of people chimed in as to how well 2xipa stands up to Pliny. I haven’t seen this beer in my area so I decided I had to try and trade for some ASAP.

The smell is intense for such a light colored beer, lots of fruity/piney hops. I am not expecting the flavor to be as intense, but it actually is. Lots of hop flavors going on, mostly grapefruit, some pine, and the malt gives a nice bready flavor. Not very sweet for an Imperial IPA, finishes a bit dry actually. Medium mouthfeel. I am sure the hardcore hop heads love this beer, but I like my Imperial IPAs (DIPAs) to be a little tiny bit sweeter. This almost falls down into the American IPA category in my opinion.

Picture of the day: Everything thats great about American food all in one place.

Published in: on July 1, 2010 at 11:43 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/beer-235365-southern-tier-2xipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have been trying to get my hands on some of this. It does not make it to Canada as far as I know. It is about a 3 hour drive to the brewery though. Maybe it is time for a road trip soon!

    • Oh man if its only a 3 hour drive i think you should take a road trip! Their sweetwater stout series are worth the trip alone.

  2. Hey Drew,

    Sharp Edge is now stocking 2XIPA for $5.50. I had two the other night and it immediately ranked in my top 10 IPA/DIPA. Definitely an “A” beer if you like strong hop aroma. Another winner from Southern Tier. Now if I could just get the recipe!!!

    • Nice thanks for the heads up. That is a bit pricey for a 12oz but good to know it can be found in the area at all.

  3. […] finish off the visit, I ordered Southern Tier 2XIPA, based on Drew’s review over at 365 Days… 365 Beers, of it being similar to Pliny The Elder and for saying it has the hops I enjoy.  The name 2XIPA […]

  4. I’m going to have to try this. I grabbed the IPA to try first. Next time I’ll go for the 2x


Leave a Reply

