Beer 233/365 – Goose Island 312 Urban Wheat Ale

goose island 312 wheat

Style: American Pale Wheat Ale

ABV: 4.2%

Purchased at: Siciliano’s Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Lots of honey for a Pale Wheat Ale, but little to no hops in the mix.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes I actually liked this one a lot.

Grade: B+

6/29/2010: In case you missed it, President Obama recently settled a World Cup bet with Prime Minister David Cameron of England. Each respective leader bet that their team would win in their recent world cup match. The game ended in a tie so they decided to still make a trade off. Obama gave the Prime Minister a “312 beer,” and David Cameron gave the President a bottle of Hobgoblin. Kind of disappointing that The President called it “312 Beer,” but still cool to see craft beer in the hands our commander in chief.

Similar to many other Pale Wheat Ales, there is not a lot of smell going on with 312 Wheat. Smells like a typical wheat beer, just very subdued. I might be crazy for thinking this, but the first non-wheat flavor I got was honey. I actually had my roommate taste it as well to be sure I wasn’t crazy, but he right off the bat without me suggesting it said he tasted honey. Weird because out of all the reviews I read on BeerAdvocate, no one mentions honey. Oh well I guess thats what makes beer tasting fun right? Very subjective. Anyways not a whole lot of other flavors going on here, a tiny bit of hop presence but not much. Its very light bodied, which is okay because I am drinking this right as I got home from my adult league soccer game. Very refreshing. Overall its a good beer, its just missing something.

Picture of the day: See Cara, this is why I won’t go watch twilight in the theaters with you. haha.

Published in: on June 29, 2010 at 8:08 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/29/beer-233365-goose-island-312-urban-wheat-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No one mentions honey on Beer Advocate? I’ll have to go look those reviews up later on, BA is blocked at work. That’s hard for me to believe because that was something that stands out to me when I have 312, a nice refreshing wheat beer with honey background. Very interesting.

    • Glad I’m not the only one who got honey… Thought i was going crazy!

  2. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove people from that
    service? Many thanks!


Leave a Reply

