Beer 200/365 – Cigar City Jai Alai IPA

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.5%

Purchased at: Another one the parents brought back for me.

What makes this beer different: It just might be my favorite IPA now. Which is “different” for me because I never thought I would say favorite and IPA in the same breath.

Will I be drinking this again: If I can get my hands on some yes.

Grade: A

5/27/2010: I am pretty sure this is my first A rating for a single IPA so far. As some of you may know I started off this 365 completely avoiding any hop heavy beer, but I have really come full circle to appreciate a good hoppy brew. Apparently they have all kinds of fruit flavored remixes of the Jai Alai IPA available at the brewery. I’ll bet they are amazing. Can anyone confirm this?

This is probably one of the best smelling beers I have had so far, right behind Dark Horse Plead the Fifth Stout. Tons of citrus smell, and some other tropical type fruits I can’t put my finger on. Jai Alai can pretty much be summed up into three words, fresh, crisp, and sticky (but not too sticky). Lots of citrus and biscuity flavor, and a little pineapple kick as well. No trace of the 7.5% alcohol content in this. This beers flavor is more like a DIPA, but the mouthfeel is just light enough to come off as an IPA. Really impressed with this beer. It maybe took me 10 minutes at most to slug this down.

Picture of the day: BP’s Splendiferous Sound-Suppressing Device.

Published in: on May 27, 2010 at 10:13 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/27/beer-200365-cigar-city-jai-alai-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

