Beer 393/365 – Weihenstephaner Vitus

Weihenstephaner Vitus

Style: Weizenbock

ABV: 7.7%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Very light in color for a weizenbock, and much less fruity.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe! It was good but not great

Grade: B+

5/2/2011: Yup, totally missed my update on Thursday. I had a week off between jobs, and took a week down in Ocean City to relax a bit. Had my first job today so I obviously didn’t want to update from there. I am back on track now, so updates will be on time!

Onto the beer. So I will be honest and say I have no idea why the weizenbock style varies so much in color. I am used to Aventinus and Victory Moonglow that are a much darker color than Vitus. The nose is kind of boozy, banana, and no sign at all of dark fruits. If I didn’t already know the style I would assume this beer is a hefeweizen. The flavor is similar to the nose, lots of banana some clove, and a sweet bubblegum type flavor. The mouthfeel is THICK! One of the heaviest non-stout beers I have ever had. To sum this up in one line, this beer is like a hefe on steroids. In my opinion this shouldn’t be considered a weizenbock, but regardless it is a good beer.

Picture of the day: Hey birthers, sorry I was kind of busy for the last few months.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/05/02/beer-393365-weihenstephaner-vitus/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

