Beer 391/365 – Piraat Ale

Piraat Ale

Style: Belgian IPA

ABV: 10.5%

Purchased at: Sharp Edge – Pittsburgh, PA

What makes this beer different: Pretty much a go to for the Belgian IPA Style

Will I be drinking this again: Yup, great beer all around

Grade: A

4/21/2011: Ugh, last day at the job I have had for the last two years. I thought this was my last stop, and I would be here for the long haul, but the economy has reared its ugly head. Taking a nice week vacation to visit my buddy Donnie in Ocean City. Going to hit up Dogfish Head Taproom in Rehoboth, and Evolution Brewing right outside of OC. I will still be updating though!

Love the Belgian IPA style, although more styles aren’t quite hoppy enough for me. I never thought i would say that before I started this website because I used to HATE hop flavor. The nose of Piraat is mostly classic Belgian yeast, malt, and only a little bit of hops. The flavor is very unique, orchard fruit, straw, spice, and some citrusy type hops. Again still could use a big more hops in my humble opinion. The mouthfeel is right on for the style, and goes down VERY easy for a 10.5%ABV beer. Would have given this an A+ if there were a bit more hops in the mix.

Picture of the day: Chose your college major wisely.

Published in: on April 21, 2011 at 1:33 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/04/21/beer-391365-piraat-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Tough to lose a job; hang in there


Leave a Reply

