Beer 390/365 – Great Lakes Doppelrock

Great Lakes Dopplerock

Style: Dopplebock

ABV: 7.8%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Very fruity for a doppelbock

Will I be drinking this again: Yes I would like to try this from the bottle.

Grade: B+

4/18/2011: Great Lakes is a very good brewery in my opinion. Almost all of their beers are what I would call “solid”, and great examples of their respective styles. You usually aren’t going to find anything really off the wall from them, but I can appreciate that. What I am trying to say is that Great Lakes is the exact opposite of a Short’s Brewing or Three Floyd’s in their approach to flavors in beer. Also apologies for the terrible picture again, but this Thursday I will be back to good pictures as I just edited about 30 photos from the Nikon..

The nose is full of malt, dark bread and toffee. The flavor to my surprise has lot of a plum/raisin/fig type thing going on. The caramel/toffee/sweet malts are there, but not as much as in the nose. Very surprising because usually I can pick up the dominant flavors in the nose, but no sign of fruit in the smell. Doppelrock also has this smokey milk type thing going on. Yes I know this is an odd description for a beer flavor, but not sure how else to put it into words. The body is a little under carbed, but still about right for the style. Overall a pretty good beer, but the milky flavor knocked it out of the A- range for me.

Picture of the day: Yup it must be tax season.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/04/18/beer-390365-great-lakes-doppelrock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I just picked up a bottle of this beer last week. I agree with your GLBC assessment. I’ve had five of their beers so far. Not off the wall, but definitely well crafted. The Edmund Fitzgerald and Burning River are my favorites so far. Looking forward to trying this one.

    Cheers!
    G-LO


Leave a Reply

