Beer 389/365- Pelican Pub India Pelican Ale

Pelican Pub India Pelican Ale

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.5%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: One of the hoppier IPAs I’ve had in a long time

Will I be drinking this again: Meh, it was good but not worth trading for.

Grade: B+

4/14/2011: Had this beer on the day I brewed my fourth batch of beer. This was my first time trying a recipe that was completely “freestyled”. I wanted to make a hybrid between two of my favorite beers of all time; Three Floyds Gumballhead, and Flying Dog Raging Bitch. I basically found a good clone recipe of each, cut them in half, combined them, and added a little bit of citra hop. This beer actually turned out pretty good, and hopefully we kick the keg this weekend during opening day of trout.

Onto the beer… Indian Pelican Ale has a very hop forward nose, a lot of grapefruit, and some pine. Long time readers of my site know how much I hate piney flavored hops. The flavor again is very hop forward, although not as piney as it was in the smell. Lots of grapefruit, some citrus, and pine in the mix. I wish there was a bit more maltiness going on, but there is just enough for this beer to be considered good. The mouth-feel is a little light for the style, probably due to the aforementioned lack of malt. Overall a pretty good beer, just needs a little more body to it.

Picture of the day: Women’s purses are like a black hole.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/04/14/beer-389365-pelican-pub-india-pelican-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

