Beer 377/365 – Midnight Sun TREAT Pumpkin Porter

Midnight Sun TREAT Pumpkin Porter

Style: Pumpkin Ale

ABV: 7.8%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: Very unique, tastes as advertised.

Will I be drinking this again: Its pretty rare so I would have to trade for it, but I probably won’t.

Grade: A-

1/24/2011: This was a tough one to track down, but I was determined to find it. I ended up trading for it on Beer Advocate, but the box was intercepted the first time. Lots of broken bottles, and lost money involved in this one. Thankfully the guy who sent me this was more than accommodating and ended up getting it to me in one piece.

I don’t understand why there aren’t more dark pumpkin beers like TREAT. The nose is amazingly accurate to the description; Pumpkin and chocolate are the headliners. The flavor is similar as well. Chocolate is the main flavor, with an average dose of pumpkin in the mix. Lots of tasty spice in the mix as well, nutmeg, clove and some cinnamon. It teeters on being too much spice, but I think its just enough. Mouthfeel is semi-heavy for a porter, I would almost consider it a stout as far as mouthfeel goes. Overall very unique, and pretty damn tasty.

Picture of the day: Look at this picture very closely. Freaky!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/beer-377365-midnight-sun-treat-pumpkin-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Interesting combination for sure!

  2. Nice blog! I have added it to my blogroll at http://beerisseur.wordpress.com. Feel free to the do the same!

    I will be back often to support you in your worthy quest!

    Prost!

    • Thanks! I added yours to my blogroll as well

  3. I concur with the above, well done. I really enjoy the layout as mine needs some improving after seeing this! Can you point me anywhere on how to add text over your photos so I could do something similar because I have a ton up but they are lacking my blog’s name…? Thanks and keep up the stellar work.

    • Hi Pat,

      I use photoshop to get the watermark over my photo… If you dont have that, you can download a program called “gimp” to do the same thing

      Thanks for the comments!


Leave a Reply

