Beer 367/365 – Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar

Rogue Hazelnut Brown Nectar

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 6.2%

Purchased at: Giant Eagle Market District – Robinson, PA

What makes this beer different: Tons of nutty flavor.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe! Very unique.

Grade: B+

11/29/2010: I’ve seen this beer on the shelves for years, but never got around to trying it. To be honest Rogue overall seems to be a bit overrated to me, although I will say their regular chocolate stout is a pretty damn good beer. Other than that I won’t go out of my way for much of their beer.

The nose is without a doubt very nutty, possibly the nuttiest of any brown ale I have ever smelled. Surprisingly the dominant flavor is a nice roasted malt, followed by a good nutty flavor. To be honest I would not have guess it to be hazelnut if I hadn’t known that was the secret ingredient. Also a bit of chocolate and tobacco like flavors in the mix. Hazelnut nectar actually ends up being a bit on the bitter end of the brown ale scale. Medium mouthfeel but a bit syrupy. Overall a pretty decent beer, a bit better than I expected.

Picture of the day: This kid is handicapable.

Published in: on November 29, 2010 at 10:04 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/beer-367365-rogue-hazelnut-brown-nectar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. best beer ever(and i’ve tried alot), extremely smooth and very delicious

  2. […] Beer Review #2 – Ales with Unique Ingredients Posted on August 10, 2012 by eyechoirs Rogue’s ‘Hazelnut Brown Nectar’ Brown Ale – Image courtesy of 365beers.wordpress.com […]

  3. Howdy this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi there. I would definitely recommend WordPress. Very straight forward and easy to use.


Leave a Reply

