Beer 364/365 – De Struise Black Damnation III – Black Mes

De Struise Black Damnation III Black Mes

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 13.0%

Purchased at: De Struise Online Store

What makes this beer different: So many strong flavors that somehow mesh together so well.

Will I be drinking this again: I bought three total, so yes. Loved this stuff.

Grade: A+

11/7/2010: A few months back I made my first ever purchase from an online beer store, which is where I got my Black Mes. Why not go big and have that beer store (De Struise) be from Belgium? Sounds expensive right? Well the bottles themselves are so cheap that when you roll in the price of shipping it ends up being $5-$6 per bottle. You figure you are going to pay that much here for a good Belgian beer so why not? Plus it allows you to purchase beer that otherwise would not see on the shelves here in the states. Sidenote: For whatever reason they print these labels off on uncoated crappy looking paper, not sure if you can see that from the picture. You would think they would spring for some decent labeling considering the quality of the beer.

The nose is just amazing, very potent; coffee, whiskey, chocolate and smoke are apparent (in that order). There are 5 main flavor components to this beer, and they seem to be spread out evenly at 20% a piece; Roasted Coffee, Dark Chocolate, Dark Fruit, Whiskey, and Smoke. Each flavor makes itself completely known with every single sip, while not overshadowing the other 4 flavors. Mouthfeel was on the rich side, but it was amazingly creamy like a Belgian Strong Dark would typically be. Overall I would have to say this might possibly be my favorite beer EVER. Off the top of my head at this point I would have to say this is the case. Its not for sale on the webshop anymore, but if you can find this you NEED to try this.

Picture of the day: Whats that you want tea partiers?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/beer-364365-de-struise-black-damnation-iii-black-mes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] 1: De Struise Black Damnation III Black Mes […]

  2. “Sidenote: For whatever reason they print these labels off on uncoated crappy looking paper, not sure if you can see that from the picture. You would think they would spring for some decent labeling considering the quality of the beer. ”

    Like the name of our company explains, we invest in beer, not labels. What would you prefer, a crappy beer with a beautiful container and label, or what you get right now? Quality, pure artisan quality in a basic container and a crappy label on it, all indicators to preserve an affordable price… 🙂

    cheers,

    Urbain @ Struise,
    Brewmaster

    • Wow Urbain I am honored you would even post on my site. How did you find it if you dont mind me asking?

      I can totally understand the reasoning for the labeling, its just the graphic designer in me that was saying that. My company also brokers print so I am a bit of a paper stock nerd. Either way the beer is amazing, and not sure if you saw but I actually had it as my #1 beer for the year on my top ten list. Amazing amazing stuff. Really looking forward to trying the rest of the series. (top ten list below)

      https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/19/365beers-recap-top-ten-list/


Leave a Reply

