Beer 363/365 – The Lost Abbey Red Poppy Ale

The Lost Abbey Red Poppy ale

Style: Flanders Oud Bruin

ABV: 5.5%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade.

What makes this beer different: Officially the most expensive beer per ounce I have had to date ($18.00 for 375ml)

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not, I really don’t see the hype behind this one.

Grade: B+

11/6/2010: I am officially off the Sour Beer Bandwagon. Barrel aged stouts, and sours of all styles have been the big thing lately in the craft beer world, but I just cannot appreciate the latter as much as other beer geeks do. I’m not going out of my way to purchase sour beers especially considering the price tag of this beer, and most other sours for that matter. That being said I can respect a sour beer, and I do enjoy drinking them, just not head over heels crazy about them like a lot of people are.

The nose of Red Poppy is semi-funky, sour cherries, and some woodiness. The flavor is tart, sour cherry, and almost vinegar like in a way. A little bit of oak flavor really helps give this beer some needed diversity away from the tart/sour aspect. Just like many of the other sour beers I have tried, this beer grows on you more as you drink it. The finish is very dry, and the mouthfeel is one of the highlights; silky, light and well carbonated. On the overall scale of craft beer this is above average, but its not worth the $18 for 375ml. I’m officially convinced I’m never going to truly appreciate sour beer. Yes I ranked this a B+, but a lot of that was rating it in regards to the style.

Picture of the day: Over 350lbs? Eat for free!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/beer-353365-the-lost-abbey-red-poppy-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Drew,
    Awesome picture here! Red Poppy was a delicious beer. I like the clarity…great work.
    Cheers,
    Tom

    • Thanks Tom! I had it a second time and really am starting to appreciate ‘sour’ beers


Leave a Reply

