Beer 362/365 – J.W. Lees Vintage Harvest Ale

JW Lees Vintage Harvest Ale

Style: English Barleywine

ABV: 11.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Super sweet but still really good.

Will I be drinking this again: Pricey but might have been worth the $8.99 price tag.

Grade: A+

11/5/2010: Phill out at Vintage Estate has been telling me for a while how good this beer is, but I could never bite the bullet on spending $8.99 for 9.3oz of beer. My last trip to VE I decided to finally pull the trigger since I wanted to get some really good beer for my last dozen or so. He had the 1999, 2001 and 2002 vintage’s, and said that his favorite was the 2001 so I decided to go for that one. Oh this is also my first ever English Barleywine, so not sure what to expect.

Tons of sweet caramel and toffee in the nose of Harvest Ale, semi-musty as well. The flavor is abundant and extremely unique; malty, sticky and almost port-like in a way. Lots of toffee, caramel, some honey, some wood, and a bit of earthiness. Mouthfeel is almost syrupy, but still creamy if that makes sense. I have never had a beer that was this sweet, yet this drinkable. Had trouble not drinking this beer in only 10 minutes, very good and very unique.

Picture of the day: Super Market Mario.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/11/05/beer-362365-j-w-lees-vintage-harvest-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] 10: J.W. Lees Vintage Harvest Ale 2001 […]

  2. […] my second English Barleywine, and I loved the other one so here is hoping this was is good as well (JW Lees Harvest Ale). Igave Phill from VE a BA Blackout stout and he gave me a 2002 Aventinus, and the Traquair in […]


Leave a Reply

