Beer 357/365 – Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout (2006)

Goose Island Bourbon County Brand Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 13.0%

Purchased at: Won it in a BIF on BeerAdvocate.

What makes this beer different: Surprisingly not as much bourbon as I expected, good stuff though.

Will I be drinking this again: Doubt I would ever be able to get my hands on this again.

Grade: A

10/31/2010: Had this little guy sent to me a few months back. I won a Super Bowl block poll, where the winner gets 48oz of beer from everyone else. Well there were 10 people total in the poll so I got 432oz of free beer, pretty awesome if you ask me. Someone was amazingly gracious by including this beer in one of the boxes that I received.

The nose is not nearly as boozy as I expected, the first thing I get actually is dark fruits, and some chocolate. Roasted coffee, sweet chocolate are the two headlining flavors. Smoke, char and vanilla make a bit of an appearance as well. Bourbon is there but not nearly as much as I expected. I’m sure the 4 years of age helped mellow it out a bit. That being said it is still boozy, just not bourbony boozy if that makes any sense. Mouthfeel is right down the middle which I think is perfect for this style, although the age obviously contributed to the lack of carbonation. Overall this is a great beer, the only thing that kept it from being an A+ was the fact that the booze could have been a bit more mellow, especially for a 4 yr old stout.

Picture of the day: Dear Public Toilets.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/beer-357365-goose-island-bourbon-county-brand-stout-2006/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You really can’t get Goose Island out in PA?

    • Nope! The store I always go to in Ohio gets them but never any of the limited released. Only stuff like 312 wheat and honkers ale.

      • Well then… I guess I know what to send you next time. We get lots of it here finally. Didn’t start coming to MA until about a year ago and now I’m really glad.


Leave a Reply

