Beer 348/365 – St. Bernardus Abt 12

St Bernardus Abt 12

Style: Quadruple

ABV: 10.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Almost as good as a Westy 12, but not quite.

Will I be drinking this again: Yup! Wish it was a little bit more affordable though.

Grade: A

10/22/2010: Trying to knock off as many of the top100 on BeerAdvocate as I can before I reach 365. St Bernardus currently ranks in at #10 overall, which means I have tried eight of the top ten beers. The other ones will be almost impossible to get a hold of. Pliny the Younger is only available from the brewery, and Trappist Westvleteren is only sold in Belgium. Oh well, 8/10 isn’t bad!

The plum in the nose is pretty typical for a quad, but the chocolate I am smelling is not. Lots of flavor going on but they all mesh well together, in order of strongest flavor: Caramel, dark fruit (figs?), bready, chocolate, earthy, and a little bit of spice. Is it just me or is it easier to pick out specific flavors in a Belgian beer as compared to an American Beer? Not sure why this is, or if I am losing it. Anyways, the mouthfeel is A+, smooth and creamy. The alcohol is completely hidden at 10.5%. Amazing beer, easily ranks up with the other top quads; Westvleteren 12 and Trappistes Rochefort 10.

Picture of the day: This is why girls should avoid mosh pits.

Published in: on October 22, 2010 at 1:06 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/beer-348365-st-bernardus-abt-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. 8/10, when did you try Abyss? Or was that before you started this site? I also just realized someone picked some up for you previously, and I just sent a bottle out for you as well… oh well. A couple other decent ones in the package as well.

    • Aww dude you are too gracious. Thank you so much for sending that. I actually tried 3 diffferent 2009s at a tasting a few months back, and ALL were infected. I have one 2009 in the basement but I was worried about infection so I have been avoiding it. Thanks again for the package Jared I really appreciate it.

      • Well, I hope this one is not infected… but I haven’t cracked any of mine yet. Seems like a specific batch or row of them from what I’ve seen, all mine came from difference sources so no idea. Enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

