Beer 344/365 – Shipyard Smashed Pumpkin

Shipyard Smashed Pumpkin

Style: Pumpkin Ale

ABV: 9.0%

Purchased at: Brew Brothers – Mt Lebanon PA

What makes this beer different: Tons of spice, but not too much.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe! Depends what else I have to pick from.

Grade: B+

10/17/2010: Smashing Pumpkin’s was one of my favorite bands growing up, so I would be lying if I said the packaging/branding of this beer didn’t play a part in me purchasing it. Anyone else a Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness fan? No one? Alrighty then.

A bit of pumpkin and lots of spice in the nose, nutmeg primarily. The flavor is in your face to be sure, again a lot of spice but mostly nutmeg, some cinnamon, and a nice punch of sugar covered pumpkin pie. The spice overpowers the pumpkin just by a little bit. It is a little bit boozy but this is a positive in my eyes. Mouthfeel is very good, a bit on the full end and great creamy texture. Overall not bad! Just wish the spice was toned down a tiny bit.

Picture of the day: Your morning coffee.

Published in: on October 18, 2010 at 2:58 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/beer-344365-shipyard-smashed-pumpkin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Heh, I was a huge Mellon Collie fan, I had to beg my parents to get it. They were a little worried as it was a double CD and more expensive, but they finally got it for me for my Birthday and I listened to it a billion times.

    On a side note, I wasn’t a huge fan of this beer. Too much spice for its own good. But, most pumpkin beers fall into that category for me.

  2. MC was a great album by the Pumpkins. However, I still personally find Siamese Dream to be a better one. Great album and one of my all-time favs.


Leave a Reply

