Beer 339/365 – Short’s Rich’s Rye

Shorts Richs Rye

Style: Rye Beer

ABV: 4.9%

Purchased at: Sent in a trade

What makes this beer different: Pretty decent for a rye beer!

Will I be drinking this again: Wouldn’t go out of my way for it, but wouldn’t turn it down if someone handed it to me.

Grade: B+

10/13/2010: Apparently this beer is named after one of the brewery dads? Not sure about the entire story behind this beer. On that note I wish there was an area on beeradvocate/ratebeer where you could put a bit more of a back story about the beer itself. I see that a bit on ratebeer, but not as much on BA. Oh and check out the head on this beer… Good stuff!

The nose is pretty hoppy for a rye beer. The flavor is a nice citrus hop, some nondescript spice, with some nice caramel malt to balance it all out. A bit of a resin type this going on as well. Mouthfeel is medium and a bit creamy for the style, finishes a bit dry. Overall a pretty good beer!

Picture of the day: Bill Mauer roasts Christine O’Donnell pretty good here.

Published in: on October 13, 2010 at 9:24 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/10/13/beer-339365-shorts-richs-rye/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nicely done Drew. Home stretch, eh? I’ve had most of these. I’d agree about Shorts and not surprisingly about Michigan. I’m actually not from here, but I have to give it to the MI brewers . Founders, Shorts and Dark Horse lead the pack in my opinion, although lots of other great stuff.

    Do you have your last beers planned? Saving stuff for last? Anyway, keep up the good work. Anything from MI that you can’t find, shoot me a line and I’ll see what I can do.

    • Yup coming down the home stretch! I am breaking into the cellar for the last 20 or so. Also heading up to Vintage Estate tonight to get some really good bottles to review. Even after the 365 though I think I am still going to update the site, just not everyday as this has been exhausting and takes up WAY more time than I thought it would. The drinking part is easy, but not updating the site hah.

      Thanks again for your tips back in January Rob!

  2. did you ever try Rye Beer from Thurn & Taxis ?

    • Never heard of Thurn & Taxi’s actually?


Leave a Reply

