Beer 322/365 – Great Divide Hoss

Great Divide Hoss

Style: Marzen

ABV: 6.2%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman, OH

What makes this beer different: A bit of earthy/pepper thing going on for the style.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes next fall I will pick up a 6 pack I’m sure.

Grade: A-

9/26/2010: I really don’t think that Great Divide makes a beer that I do not like, well not that I have tried thus far. I plan on breaking open their Barrel Aged Yeti very soon. I will probably dig into the cellar to try and knock off a bunch of top 100 beers from BeerAdvocate. Oh and sorry for the Steeler’s glass but I did drink this on a Sunday :).

The nose of Hoss is a bit hoppier than your typical Marzen/Oktoberfest. The flavor is an awesome three-way balance between sweet bready malt, earthy/pepper type kick (from the rye), and noble hops. Each sip seems to rotate between the three. The mouthfeel and carbonation are right in the middle, and it finishes on the dry end of the scale. Lots of flavor in this beer.

Picture of the day: If you do this in an email, I hate you.

Published in: on September 26, 2010 at 8:30 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/beer-322365-great-divide-hoss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

