Beer 309/365 – Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale

Weyerbacher Imperial Pumpkin Ale

Style: Pumpkin Ale

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: My first “Imperial” style pumpkin ale. Lots of spice but not overdone

Will I be drinking this again: Hell yeah, can’t believe it took me so long to try it.

Grade: A

9/13/2010: Lately I have been grabbing every and any pumpkin ale I could find. Its one of my favorite styles so its a bit surprising that I haven’t tried Weyerbacher’s version yet. I have heard good things from a few of my beer drinking friends so hoping its a good one.

The nose of Imperial Pumpkin Ale is very pungent. I immediately smelled a ton of spice as soon as I opened the bottle. The flavor wasn’t quite as intense as the nose, but still very good. A perfect menage trois of cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove. The spice flavor is slightly greater than the pumpkin flavor, but its a welcome change. Some caramel malt in the mix here as well. Mouthfeel is a bit heavier as this is an imperial style beer. The ABV is hidden very well for 8.0%. I might just have to pick up a sixer of this and see what one of these tastes like with some age on it. This might have just jumped up into the #3 spot on my top pumpkin ales list. #1 being O’fallon’s Pumpkin, #2 Michigan Screaming Pumpkin, and Weyerbacher just ousted Southern Tier Pumking from the #3 spot.

Picture of the day: Texting while driving into the sun; not advised.

Published in: on September 13, 2010 at 3:33 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/beer-309365-weyerbacher-imperial-pumpkin-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I actually just had this beer this past weekend. I can see why it took awards at GABF. I am also a fan of this and O’Fallon’s Pumpkin Beer too. I look forward to trying Michigan Screaming Pumpkin as that beer has come highly recommended.

    It is a bummer you bumped Souther Tiers’ Pumking off of your list. Such an awesome beer.

    • I do like pumpking a lot, but I think they have messed with the recipe in recent years. It has either slowly went down hill, or my palette is just getting used to the flavor.

  2. I was lucky enough to have the Wyerbacher, Screaming Pumpkin and Pumking all on draft at the same place. Really cool to see 3 how different those three pumpkin beers were. All were good, but I actually put Pumking last in that bunch.


Leave a Reply

