Beer 304/365 – Red Brick Porter

Red Brick Porter

Style: American Porter

ABV: 7.7%

Purchased at: Sent as an extra in a trade.

What makes this beer different: Wasn’t expecting much, but there was a really nice balance of coffee/chocolate flavors.

Will I be drinking this again: Very limited distribution and limited release says no.

Grade: B+

9/8/2010: Red Brick Porter is brewed by a small brewery in Atlanta, Georgia. I have never heard of Red Brick brewing until I received this beer, so I am going into this review blind. But I am always open to try any porter/stout. Besides in my book I just consider porters “Lite Stouts.” I always opt for a Porter when I don’t feel like drinking something heavy, but want that dark chocolate/coffee kick.

The smell is even parts chocolate/coffee, with a little bit of earth to it. The flavor is pretty plain and simple, 50/50 bittersweet chocolate/roasted coffee mix, with a little bit of a tobacco type flavor. Mouthfeel is well carbonated for a porter, which is part of the reason the alcohol is hidden so well. I would have never guessed this to be a 7.7% ABV beer. Overall nothing super special about this beer, but it is very drinkable.

Picture of the day: Laziness at its finest

Published in: on September 8, 2010 at 1:01 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/08/beer-304365-red-brick-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice post. I completely agree about how a porter is kind of like a light stout. I have not had a good stout or porter in a while as I am drinking a lot of Oktoberfests and Pumpkin Ales for the fall season.

    I am sure you already know, but you should check out Vintage Estates Pumpkin Ale Blind Tasting on Saturday. I am going and cannot wait to try a series of pumpkin ales.

    Keep up with the posts. I enjoy reading them. Btw…have you heard of Craft Pittsburgh? Guess it’s a new craft beer publication that is looking to start up in Pittsburgh. I do not know if there are any opportunities to write with them but I would check them out.

    -An Amateur Beer Enthusiast

    • Hey James,

      I have not heard of that publication, sounds interesting though. As far as the pumpkin ale showdown, yeah I knew about it but had prior obligations. Did you end up going? Phill is a really good guy if you haven’t met him yet.

      EDIT: Ooops… I knew your name but typed Jared for some reason lol.

  2. Drew, I live in Atlanta and first had this porter at the Red Brick Brewery and greatly enjoyed it. You’re right in your description of the porter. I also detected a hint of carmel alongside the chocolate and some coffee. Yeah, the carbonation allows for the alcohol to be hidden very well. The flavor certainly came more alive as the beer warmed. Really enjoyed this porter and drinkabilty is definitely a yes.


Leave a Reply

