Beer 302/365 – Schell’s Oktoberfest

Schells Oktoberfest

Style: Oktoberfest

ABV: 5.5%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Kind of minerally tasting, thin bodied.

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not.

Grade: C

9/6/2010: My last trip up to Vintage Estate I decided to grab up as many Oktoberfest/Pumpkin beers as possible, even if I knew nothing about said beers. This was one I knew nothing about, but the $1.50 price point was enough reason for me to take a gamble.

Schell’s Oktoberfest pours out very thing, and the head dissipates almost immediately. The nose is almost non-existent, just some toasted caramel malt notes. The flavor is pretty unbalanced, a little bit of toasted malt flavor, with some a bitter kick that reminds me of iced tea that is unsweetened. Some minerally attributes as well. Mouthfeel was the final nail in the coffin here, it was VERY light, and under-carbonated. I heard good things about Schell beer, but my first impression has not been a good one.

Picture of the day: The first record of a time traveler?

Published in: on September 6, 2010 at 10:46 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/09/06/beer-302365-schells-oktoberfest/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Isn’t it funny how everyone’s taste is different ? Schell’s Oktoberfest won a silver metal at the GABF!

    • Oh wow I didn’t know that! I am by no means an expert on reviewing oktoberfests, but to me it was just not all that enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

