Beer 286/365 – Red Stripe

Red Stripe

Style: American Adjunct Lager

ABV: 4.7%

Purchased at: Fagers Island – Ocean City, MD

What makes this beer different: A little bolder than the other “island” style lagers.

Will I be drinking this again: Out of a lot of the mainstream beers out there, this one is one of the most tolerable

Grade: B-

8/21/2010: :::Insert obligatory Hooray Beer comment here:::

I spent the weekend in Ocean City Maryland in preparation for my buddy Donnie’s bachelor party in Atlantic City (3 hour drive from OCMD). One of my good friends is a bartender at my old place of employment; Fagers Island. So I always try to make an appearance there, plus on Saturday nights it is PACKED… Good times for sure.

Its been awhile since I have had a Red Stripe, so I decided to give one a shot. Couldn’t really get a good idea of the smell as I was drinking this from a bottle. The flavor is pretty unique; some hay, and something I can only describe as sulfur/mineral like. Its not a strong sufur flavor, but its unique in an oddly pleasing way. Non-descript hops are in the background as well. Mouthfeel is just under average, with good carbonation. Overall not bad for a big market type of beer.

Picture of the day: What a poetic way to start the day.

Published in: on August 21, 2010 at 11:19 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/08/21/beer-286365-red-stripe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

