Beer 261/365 – Goose Island Nut Brown Ale

Goose Island Nut Brown Ale

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.2%

Purchased at: Siciliano’s Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Very flavorful for a brown ale

Will I be drinking this again: They are retiring the beer, so probably not.

Grade: B+

7/27/2010: I remember reading somewhere that this beer is being retired by Goose Island. Sad because before I even knew much about craft beer, this was one beer that I could easily recognize. I guess with the big beer fad going on lately they decided to focus on higher ABV beers.

Goose Island Nut Brown has a nice toasty smell, with some brown sugar in the mix. The flavor is really good; nutty, caramel, roasty, and I am even getting a little bit of chocolate in the finish. Very drinkable. Average mouthfeel and carbonation for the style, although admittedly I could never pick out the difference between an English/American Brown Ale as far as styles go.

Picture of the day: This chick needs a reality check.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/27/beer-261365-goose-island-nut-brown-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never been fully comfortable with the naming of this particular style.
    Good luck on all the beers, you’re doing a great job!

    • Thanks Chuwy! Its getting tough keeping this all up to date but its been a fun journey so far.

  2. One of my favorites, I am also sad to hear it go. I did call and talk to someone about it, it will still be on tap in their pub from time to time.

    • Thats good news that they are at least still going to brew it in some capacity. Thanks for the info!


Leave a Reply

