Beer 260/365 – Sam Adam’s Holiday Porter

Sam Adams Holiday Porter

Style: American Porter

ABV: 5.90%

Purchased at: Jesus I don’t even remember, its been sitting in my fridge for a while now.

What makes this beer different: Sweet and almost buttery in a way

Will I be drinking this again: Won’t go out my my way for it, but it was good!

Grade: B+

7/26/2010: Christmas in July? Sure why not. I actually am running out of “non-agable-beer” to drink, so I decided to give this one a shot. I am pretty sure co-worker Tony gave this one back to me in January.

This beer smells like its on the more smooth/sweet end of the Porter spectrum. Too often I think porters can have that bitter coffee characteristics. The flavor is smooth milk chocolate, a little nutty, and a buttery flavor. The flavors are all pretty mellow, but work well together. Mouthfeel is about average. This beer goes down very easy, very solid, but not anything too original going on here.

Picture of the day: Not so much funny but pretty amazing. Cant touch this!

Published in: on July 26, 2010 at 11:46 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/26/beer-260365-sam-adams-holiday-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah, the Samuel Adams Holiday Porter. I look forward to it every Christmas. I don’t know what it has to do with Christmas, but in general, it’s just pleasant. 🙂

    I wish I could get it on its own, though, outside of the Holiday Collection pack, as I only like half of what’s in the Holiday Collection (the Holiday Porter, Old Fezziwig’s Ale, and the Cranberry Lambic) and the other half (the Boston Lager, the Winter Lager, and, this year, the Coastal Wheat) just don’t do it for me.

    • Agreed, there are not many beers from Sam adams that really wow me.. Actually as far as their holiday beers go I really like the Fezziwig. Their Honey Porter is good around the holidays also.


Leave a Reply

