Beer 259/365 – Otter Creek Copper Ale

Otter Creek Copper Ale

Style: Altbier

ABV: 5.4%

Purchased at: Sent to me by Jared.

What makes this beer different: Lots of mineral flavor, but that flavor isn’t as terrible as it sounds.

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not

Grade: B

7/25/2010: My first beer from Otter Creek! This is also my first beer from Vermont. I actually wonder how many states I haven’t tried beer from on my 365 so far? I know Idaho/South & North Dakota/Arizona… I don’t even know of any good beer from said states? Regardless if I don’t get all 50 states thats fine. After this year is up I plan on doing a 52 week blog, drinking one beer from each state, and from 52 different countries. This beer a day thing is getting rough!

This is my first Altbier, admittedly I don’t know much about the style so lets see what this beer is all about. The nose is.. minerally? Not sure how else to describe it. The flavor is pretty earthy, that mineral flavor rears its head, some sweet malt, and kind of bready. All that being said this beer is just average to me. Goes down pretty easy and tastes just good enough to drink another if I had one around.

Picture of the day: Hilarious misspelling.

Published in: on July 25, 2010 at 10:29 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/25/beer-259365-otter-creek-copper-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First off I like your site but perhaps you should read up a little more on the style before reviewing it. Otter Creek Copper is a fine example of an altbier. I have no problem with you not liking it (that’s your opinion) but it seems you detracted from the score based on not being fond of the style. Altbiers are psuedo-lagers (fermented cold with ale yeast) which are easy drinking and can be confused as a little boring. That’s my opinion.

    From the Alstrom Brothers, “Notes: Luscious! A beautiful interpretation of a German Alt beer. This is Otter Creek’s flagship, and a New England classic.”

    Have you ever tried homebrewing? It’s a great way to learn about a lot of different beer styles and the plus is you get to make beer!

    Cheers!

    P.S. great pics

    • Larry,

      In reply to your most recent comment, I do not check into my blog over the weekends, and I usually spend Monday mornings getting caught up on things. Sorry you took offense to your comment not being posted right away. Other comments that you saw posted after yours were because they are repeat visitors and were already approved once.

      Secondly, I know you are a new reader to the blog, but I have said many times I am by NO MEANS an expert on beer, not even close to it. This is more a journey for myself and getting more familiar with many styles of beer. I also said in this post that I am NOT familiar with this style, and its my first beer from this style. I personally do not grade beers based on style, I grade based on how much I enjoy them, period. I understand that true “beer geekism” looks down on that, but thats my prerogative right? While I respect what the brothers take are on certain beers, they are by no means the end all be all on beer. Thats also what makes beer tasting fun, its subjective. Also not sure if you noticed, but the brothers have a little bit of a bias to beer from the New England region.

      I actually just finished up my second home brew, my first was a brown ale with maple syrup and pistachio, and my second was a franzy clone with a little bit of honey malt added to put my own twist on it.

      Cheers,

      Drew

      • Well said. I apologize because I did not see that my comment was in moderation (it usually says it when you first submit it). No hard feelings.

        Cheers


Leave a Reply

