Beer 250/365 – Bell’s Batch 9000

Bells Batch 9000

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 12.5%

Purchased at: The Headkeeper – Greensburg PA

What makes this beer different: Super sweet and needs some time to sit for sure.

Will I be drinking this again: Have a few more bottles in the basement

Grade: B

7/16/2010: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, I think Bell’s is a little overrated. Other than Hop Slam they don’t offer much that is very unique. Of course there is a market for above average “staying in the lines” craft beer, so I can’t say I blame them for pretty much staying on the straight and narrow. I love breweries who think outside the box, and try to push the limits. Bell’s is a little more on the conservative end of the brewery scale.

I have been reading reviews on this beer and see that it is still a little hot, but that didnt stop me from trying it. I am also confused how this is categorized as a Strong Ale, it hits me more as a stout. The smells is VERY boozy and sweet. The flavor is all about sweetness, molasses, and dense fugdeyness. The booze are far too prominent for me at this point. I rarely ever thing a beer is too boozy, as I am the type of guy who drinks my whiskey and cokes with only a splash of coke. Very full mouthfeel, with little to no carbonation. I am sure this will be a solid beer in a year or two, but for right now I will avoid drinking another one.

Picture of the day: Keep your kids away from this guy.

Published in: on July 16, 2010 at 1:52 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/16/beer-250365-bells-batch-9000/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

