Beer 249/365 – Surly Coffee Bender

Surly coffee bender

Style: American Brown Ale

ABV: 5.10%

Purchased at: Traded for it

What makes this beer different: The first coffee flavored brown ale I have ever had.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes I would love to. Might have to trade for it.

Grade: A-

7/15/2010: This technically is the last beer in my Surly Beer week, I almost forgot that I already drank the Abrasive Ale about a month ago. Description below.

This beer is our regular Bender beer with a cold-press coffee-brewing process. We steep 20 gallons at a time, so this beer will pop up at Tours, beer fests and special tappings. The coffee is roasted locally at Coffee & Tea Limited in Linden Hills.

I am a big fan of any coffee flavored beer, but this is the first brown ale I have had with such flavoring. My favorite coffee beer thus far hands down is Perkulator by Dark Horse. Coffee Bender might have just jumped into the #2 spot. The smell is french roasted coffee and sweet brown sugar. The flavor really reminds me of an iced coffee; coffee, creaminess, and just sweet enough. The mouthfeel from the oatmeal really helps this beer just as it did the regular bender. Overall I really like this Coffee Bender, but needed a bit more of a coffee punch to jump into my #1 spot for coffee flavored beer.

Picture of the day: Aliens and Avatar are essentially the same movie

Published in: on July 15, 2010 at 11:45 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/15/beer-249365-surly-coffee-bender/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

