Beer 245/365 – Saison Dupont

Saison Dupont

Style: Saison / Farmhouse Ale

ABV: 6.50%

Purchased at: Melt Bar and Grilled – Cleveland OH

What makes this beer different: Not as funky as some saison/farmhouse’s that I have had, but this makes it very drinkable

Will I be drinking this again: Yes this was good stuff

Grade: A-

7/11/2010: Beware this is a long post. Our last stop in Ohio was at Melt Bar and Grilled in Cleveland. I am a huge Man Vs. Food fan, and he tried to take on the Grilled Cheese Challenge; 13 different cheese on one sammich. I love cheese but thats too much. The wait for a table was 2 hours, so we waited for a bar seat and grabbed some random beers along the way.

They actually have a really good beer selection. I am known for trying crazy black and tan mixtures, and I came up with one that was pretty freaking amazing; Southern Tier Creme Brulee with Strongbow Cider. It was like liquid apple pie. As far as food goes I ordered the North Coastshores (click for photo); crab cakes, wilted garlic spinach, roasted red pepper, herbed cream cheese and havarti cheese. Cara ordered the Westside Monte Cristo; honey ham, smoked turkey, swiss, american, beer battered, mixed berry preserves. Both were amazing.

I am relatively new to the Saison/Farmhouse style, but one thing I am learning is that they usually smell way more sour/funky than they taste. This is the case with Saison Dupont. The flavor is lemony, hoppy, and only mildy “funky”. Not a ton of hops, but just enough to let you know they are there. Lots of carbonation make this very drinkable. The flavors aren’t real intense either, but are very pleasant. It took me way too long to try this beer. This actually convinced me that I might have to try a Saison for my next home-brew batch.

Picture of the day: Should this seriously be considered breaking news in America?.

Published in: on July 11, 2010 at 9:42 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/11/beer-245365-saison-dupont/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My mouth is watering. Mad that I moved away from an area that had a plethora of awesome bottle shops, so i cant stop in and pick up a bottle for tonight.

  2. I hadn’t heard of this beer till Philly Beer Week this past June. The Philadelphia Weekly (one of those freebie city papers) published a Philly Beer Week guide which featured interviews with several prominent brewers (Sam Calagione from Dogfish Head was one of them). At least four of them rated Saison Dupont as one of their favorite beers. I have yet to try it and have it high on my “must try” list. My first saison was a Southampton Biere de Mars. Really really good stuff! I’ve also had Yards Saison and Ithaca Groundbreak Saison. I had the Ithaca on tap this past Sunday and it was EXCELLENT! Try it if you can. Great stuff!

    Cheers!

    G-LO

    • Nice thanks for the info G-LO. If I see any of the beers you mentioned i’ll pick one up. I think the biere de mars is around this area. Let me know when you try the dupont!

      • Will do! There’s a restaurant nearby that I believe has it on tap. I’ll let you know how it goes.

        G-LO

        • SO I finally tried this beer. Fantastic! My review will be up shortly.

          G-LO


Leave a Reply

