Beer 239/365 – Goose Island Matilda

Goose Island Matilda

Style: Belgian Strong Pale Ale

ABV: 7.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me by Kevin from Denver.

What makes this beer different: The style to me is right between a Belgian Strong Pale Ale and a Belgian Strong Dark Ale.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes I need to find more, only have one left in the basement.

Grade: A

7/5/2010: Its been a while since I have popped open a Belgian from the basement, so I figured it was time. I went through a bunch early on in my 365, but I then realized it was getting pretty expensive to maintain this habit. Which is why lately I have been drinking a lot of $2 beers.

Matilda smells a little tiny bit funky, and some sweet caramel. This is probably the most flavorful BSPA I have ever had, and as you can see it is probably one of the darkest also. This beer is supposed to be a tribute to Orval, but its not nearly as funky as Orval, and it is much sweeter. A lot of sweet candy flavor, caramel/pale malt, with a little tiny bit of funk in the background. Just enough to let you know its there. The mouthfeel is on the full end for a Belgian Strong Pale. Very good and unique beer. If you have access to this beer go out and try it.

Picture of the day: This is embarrassing.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/07/05/beer-239365-goose-island-matilda/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

