Beer 229/365 – Three Floyd’s Apocalype Cow

Three Floyds apocalypse cow

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade

What makes this beer different: Its an Imperial IPA that uses Lactose Milk Sugar (hence the cow on the label)

Will I be drinking this again: Won’t go out of my way for it, but it is unique like all the other Three Floyd’s brew’s.

Grade: B

6/25/2010: Not only does Three Floyd’s always some good beer, but they always have some really cool labeling on their beer. This is kind of what the picture looked like in my head when I heard what this beer was called (apocalypse cow). Are Three Floyd’s trying to say its a sign of the apocalypse that they are using an ingredient in an IPA that is traditionally used in a Stout? Thats the message I am getting.

This beer is probably the freshest off the line IPA I have had to date. It is released in early June, and I am drinking it only a few weeks after it came off the line. My nostrils are getting mauled by hop aroma. There are a lot of aggressive flavors going on here. Lots and lots of hops, a pretty even mix between citrus and pine flavors. A lot of malt, but man these hops are viscous. So bitter I can literally feel it in my chest. There is no way I would have known there was lactose in this unless you told me. Mouthfeel is a bit on the heavy side. I know most people love their IPA/DIPAs fresh, but the hops in this were just to pungent for me. I think if I were to drink this in August, I might have liked it a bit more.

Picture of the day: True example of fair play.

Published in: on June 25, 2010 at 3:26 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/25/beer-229365-three-floyds-apocalype-cow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

