Beer 228/365 – New Belgium Ranger IPA

New Belgium Ranger IPA

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.5%

Purchased at: I can’t even remember where I got this bottle from.

What makes this beer different: The whitest head I have ever seen on a beer. A little too bitter for me

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not, not balanced enough for my liking.

Grade: B-

6/24/2010: New Belgium is brewed in one of the best states for craft beer; Colorado. They are best known for their Amber Ale known as Fat Tire. Would love to get enough free time to make it back out there to visit my buddy Kevin, and drive all over the state visiting breweries. If only I had enough money to retire at the ripe old age of…27.

As I mentioned above, ranger has the cleanest whitest looking head I have ever seen on a beer. Almost like soap bubbles. It smells very tropical. The taste feature my arch enemy, pine flavored hops. This doesn’t always kill a beer completely for me, but its not my favorite flavor in the world thats for sure. Thankfully there’s a decent bit of tropical flavors going on, but not enough malt for all these hops to lay out. It’s very sticky and resinous. I am sure some hop-heads would like this beer, but its just too bitter for this guy.

Picture of the day: The only thing more annoying than Twilight.

Published in: on June 24, 2010 at 11:54 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/24/beer-228365-new-belgium-ranger-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

