Beer 224/365 – Dogfish Head Midas Touch

Style: Herbed / Spiced Beer

ABV: 9.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Dogfish Head claims this is the oldest fermented beverage in the world

Will I be drinking this again: It was very unique, but not sure if I would go out of my way to drink it again.

Grade: B

6/20/2010: Dogfish head has a little blurb on their website claiming that this beer is the oldest fermented beverage in the world. They say the recipe was found on the walls of King Midas’ tomb. Which is odd because as far as I know, the tale of King Midas is a complete myth. But what do I know? I just drink good beer and make websites.

The pour of midas touch produces almost no carbonation at all. I am getting little to no smell with this beer. Maybe a little bit of money, but that might just be because I know its in the brew, and I’m trying to hard to find something in the nose that I am convincing myself its there. The flavor no doubt has a mead type characteristic. Honey is the main event here. The flavor is almost medicinal in a way? Really hard to put into words. This also has a lot of dry white wine characteristics as well. Not overly complex, again this is mostly about the honey, with some grape. Mouthfeel is pretty damn heavy, and it doesn’t help that there is little to no carbonation. Gets a little easier to take down as it warms. This beer is very unique, but not something I would go out of my way to drink again.

Picture of the day: Bono is an evil evil man.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/20/beer-224365-dogfish-head-midas-touch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

